Monthly Posts · Top Five Tuesday

Top Five Tuesday | Favourite M/M Couples in YA

This Top Five may contain spoilers.

Due to unrelated circumstances, I ended up missing last week’s Top Five, which got me quite down as I find these posts the most fun to make. However, it ended up working in my favor as I’ve been planning this post for Valentines for so long. 
However, I should note that this post will probably reoccur the more LGBT literature I read. I’ve read a few, however, there is a huge collection in my To-Read pile that I’m sure have a few potential contenders in future posts.


Gabriel Boutin and Nathan Byrn | The Half Bad Trilogy

tumblr_o5utu5qezs1tvfn5wo1_1280
Credit to Artist. (Click image)

This couple are possibly my all time favourite LGBT couple in Young Adult Fiction. I adore their relationship. They balance each other out, with Gabriel’s protectiveness and Nathan’s brashness, and although, they have a few scraps, their relationship is completely healthy. Nathan’s guard is always up around other characters in the series, detaching himself from his emotions. However, with Gabriel, there are numerous occasions where he’d cry in front of him, revealing his vulnerability. The heartbreaking climax of the series involving their relationship was beautiful, and couldn’t have ended better for them.

“I love her. I always have. You know that.”
“And me?”
“You’re my friend, Gabriel.”
“Do you kiss all your friends like that?” But he asked it without the harshness of his other questions. It’s a real question. 
“Just you.”
Half Wild


Adam Parrish and Ronan Lynch | The Raven Cycle

tumblr_o219xj3n6p1t4eiw4o2_540
Credit to Artist. (Click Image)

There was no chance that these two weren’t going to turn up somewhere in this list. They’re the most angsty couple I’ve read, and there’s a special place in my heart for them both. Their relationship is beautiful, and has reduced me to tears and squeals on multiple occasions whilst reading. Prior to their established relationship in the final installment of the series, the initial three books are full of wonderful actions of sweetness between the pair, with lengthy pauses of staring in between to satisfy readers. Ronan is incredibly protective of Adam, yet doesn’t overwhelm him with his actions, giving him small hints of affection behind his usual stern behaviour. With a beautifully healthy relationship throughout, regardless of the messy plot, it ended gorgeously at the climax of The Raven King. With a trilogy of their own in the works, I’m so excited to see their romance bloom.

Inside, they pretended they would dream, but they did not. They sprawled on the living room sofa and Adam studied the tattoo that covered Ronan’s back: all the sharp edges that hooked wondrously and fearfully into each other. 
“Unguibus et rostro,” Adam said.
Ronan put Adam’s fingers to his mouth. He was never sleeping again.
The Raven King


Simon Snow and Baz Grimm Pitch | Carry On

tumblr_ov25dkdwct1u8ealno1_500
Credit to Artist. (Click Image)

Carry On is one of those books that you finish unsure of your opinion on, yet stays in your mind until you fall in love. Although, the story itself lacked originality, I adored the development of Simon and Baz’s relationship. They’re a classic enemies-to-lovers couple, who melted my heart reading their forming relationship. Their initial relationship was based off Simon’s hatred for the man, arguing on sight with him and claiming he had evil motives against him. However, they eventually joined forces with a common enemy, opened up about their history and developed feelings within the comfort of another. They’re essentially a version of Harry Potter and Draco Malfoy, and even though the plot line of the story lacked uniqueness, these two made it tolerable.

“What you are is a fucking tragedy, Simon Snow. You literally couldn’t be a bigger mess.”
He tries to kiss me, but I pull back – “And you like that?”
“I love it,” He says.
“Why?”
“Because we match.”


Aled Last and Daniel Jun| Radio Silence

tumblr_obtl3ky57d1tjvbzjo5_1280
Credit to Artist. (Click Image)

I’ve only recently finished reading this book, yet these two have managed to own my heart instantly. Considering one of the characters identify as demisexual, and is incredibly adorable throughout the novel, I couldn’t not mention them. This identification was greeted with immediate acceptance from Daniel, listening to his explanation before accepting it without a second thought. Aled’s usual reserved personality drops around Daniel, showing his comfort in his presence. Whereas Daniel on the other hand is usually stern-faced and composed, yet on the topic of Aled he melts, revealing his worries for the man and agrees to find him. Although their relationship was explored briefly until around mid-way through the novel, their ability to freely explain and accept another at the end of the story makes them a worthy mention in this list.

Aled moved his arm off the bed. I wondered whether they were holding hands.
“So can we just go back to the way things were?” whispered Aled. “Can we just be us again?”
Daniel took a moment to reply.
“Yeah, we can,” he said.


Ari Mendoza and Dante Quintana | Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

ari_and_dante_by_llstarcasterll-d8yn5qq
Credit to Artist. (Click Image)

I read this book over Christmas and immediately fell in love with these two characters. The journey of their relationship was inspiring and beautiful, telling the tale of their acceptance and discovery of their sexuality. Dante was composed about his sexuality throughout the entirety of the novel, revealing the character’s bravery and it initially scared Ari. However, eventually his love for the other shone through, admitting his true feelings and revealed how important Dante was to him. Their love for another throughout the story was beautiful, both being protective of another even when they were apart. At the end of the novel a relationship is established, and their happiness was wonderful to read.

“I wished it was raining,” he said.
“I don’t need the rain,” I said. “I need you.”

signature

6 thoughts on “Top Five Tuesday | Favourite M/M Couples in YA

  1. Great list! And yes, Adam and Ronan’s relationship is so precious ❤ Definitely one of our fave M/M couples! Simon and Baz was also another awesome choice! Percy and Monty from The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue are another one of our faves 🙂

    -Ash & Lo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment